‘Call Me By Your Name’ & & ‘The Handmaid’ s Tale’ Take Top Honors at USC Scripter Awards

the handmaids tale elisabeth moss 03 - ‘Call Me By Your Name’ & & ‘The Handmaid’ s Tale' Take Top Honors at USC Scripter Awards


As we inch closer and closer to the Oscars, other awards continue to offer tips regarding exactly what we ought to anticipate when the huge night shows up. Whereas The Shape of Water and Guillermo del Toro look primed to take house statues for Best Picture and Best Director in the after-effects of the DGA and PGA awards, the SAG awards and Golden Globes point towards Frances McDormand, Sam Rockwell, Allison Janney, and Gary Oldman taking the acting awards. And if last night’s USC Scripter Awards are any sign, octogenarian James Ivory now looks most likely to take house Oscar honors for his adjusted movie script for Call Me By Your Name


Image through Hulu

The USC Scripter awards have actually properly anticipated the Oscar winner for Best Adapted Screenplay every year so far this years. The last time that it diverged remained in 2009 when USC provided its leading movie honors to Lee Daniels Precious in advance of Jason Reitman‘s Up in the Air bringing house the gold at the Oscars. This likewise taken place in other places in the aughts– Children of Men over The Departed in 2006, Capote over Brokeback Mountain in 2005– however since 2010, the choices have actually lined up precisely. If a comparable break were to occur this year, ideally the Oscar would exist to Mudbound or Logan over Aaron Sorkin‘s mind-numbing script for Molly’s Game

As for the TELEVISION side of things, USC provided its huge award to (you thought it) The Handmaid’s Tale, particularly Bruce Miller‘s movie script for “Offred.” Miller vanquished stiff competitors from Big Little Lies, Alias Grace, and Mindhunter, even if the award would have been more deservingly put in the hands of David Lynch and Mark Frost or any of the authors behind Netflix’s She’s Got ta Have It That being stated, neither the Oscars nor USC have a history of granting enthusiastic and genuinely bold programs, simply the ones that appear most politically prompt from the beginning. Following that reasoning, the winners had to do with as unsurprising and deserving as one might have anticipated. You can see the complete list of winners and candidates listed below.

Here’s the complete list of candidates for the 2018 USC Scripter Awards:

Film Adaptation

Author André Aciman and film writer James Ivory for “Call Me by Your Name”– WINNER

Screenwriters Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber for“The Disaster Artist” and authors Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell for their nonfiction book ” The Disaster Artist:
My Life Inside ‘The Room,’ the best Bad Movie Ever Made”

Screenwriters Scott Frank, Michael Green and James Mangold and authors Roy Thomas, Len Wein and John Romita Sr., for“Logan”

Screenwriter James Gray and author David Grann for “The Lost City of Z”

Screenwriter Aaron Sorkin and author Molly Bloom for“Molly’s Game”

Screenwriters Virgil Williams and Dee Rees and author Hillary Jordan for “Mudbound”

Screenwriter Allan Heinberg and author William Moulton Marston for“Wonder Woman”

Television Adaptation

Screenwriter Sarah Polley and author Margaret Atwood for“Alias Grace”

David E. Kelley for the episode “You Get What You Need” from “Big Little Lies” and author Liane Moriarty

Noah Pink and Ken Biller for the episode “Einstein: Chapter One” from“Genius” and author Walter Isaacson for his book “Einstein: His Life and Word”

Bruce Miller for the episode “Offred” from“The Handmaid’s Tale” and author Margaret Atwood– WINNER

Peter Landesman, George C. Wolfe and Alexander Woo for the tv movie“The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” and author Rebecca Skloot

Joe Penhall and Jennifer Haley for “Episode 10” of “Mindhunter” and authors John Douglas and Mark Olshaker for their nonfiction book “Mindhunter: Inside the FBI’s Elite Serial Crime Unit”

Related youtube video: (not from post)

More Like This